Interesting Dr. Mohler, very interesting indeed…

I’m in the process of trying to figure out how to move my family back down to Atlanta not even 3 weeks after coming out to my wife.  It has been a whirlwind to say the least! While I was not wanting to move this quickly and I really didn’t think it was the prudent thing to do, I have tried to back down and give my wife as much control as she needs to get through this difficult time.  She feels like she needs family.  Therefore, I will support the decision to relocate on her timeframe.  Interestingly enough, we both already have jobs.  It has been a bit of a bombshell for family, but her parents have expressed a willingness to help by letting my wife and the kids stay with them while I remain in NC to fix up the house to sell.

I posted this article on recent words by Dr. Al Mohler of the SBC basically saying that being gay in and of itself was as sin.  I must say that I was a bit shocked that it seemed like he was quoting very old positions that I thought were behind the SBC.  I’m fairly young, and as far back as I can remember the position has been “love the sin, hate the sinner”.  Now he was reverting back to “hate the sinner?”

Anyway, in my research for churches in the area my kids will be living, I came across an article from a few years back by a young SBC leader named Johathan Merritt.  I’ve followed Johnathan for quite a while and have actually had coffee with him.  I must say he is a top notch individual with a ton of character.  He is navigating some very dangerous waters, and for that I applaud him.  Here is the article and the quote from Dr. Mohler.  I think it speaks for itself.

Even so, nothing Merritt has written thus far has stirred more stunning publicity than his article entitled “Evangelical shift on gays: Why ‘clobber scriptures’ are losing ground” (The Christian Science Monitor, March 2011). Though CSMsubsequently pulled it from its site, the original article may still be found on various news feed venues (e.g. //link). A major reason this article remains so noteworthy for Southern Baptists is Merritt’s use of words spoken to him in an undisclosed interview by Southern Baptist Theological Seminary president, Al Mohler, words which prompted a direct question to Mohler at the 2011 Southern Baptist Convention meeting in Phoenix, AZ. According to Merritt and laterunequivocally affirmed by Mohler himself, Dr. Mohler said in response to a question neither Merritt nor Mohler reveals:

“We’ve lied about the nature of homosexuality and have practiced what can only be described as a form of homophobia…We’ve used the ‘choice’ language when it is clear that sexual orientation is a deep inner struggle and not merely a matter of choice” (//link)

The media fallout was, in many ways, catastrophic though Mohler supporters chose to hush-hush the issue. Even Baptist Press waited over a week to record the president calling for Southern Baptists to repent of their alleged “homophobia” andrespond to the news reports that Southern Baptists were going soft on homosexuality. Nor is the fallout complete I assure. Questions continue about Mohler’s mysterious linguistic meltdown over this issue. The usually clear Mohler became the unusually muddled Mohler when addressing “we’ve lied” and practiced “homophobia”—surely a rarity experienced by those who regularly read the polished cultural critic from Louisville.

One response to “Interesting Dr. Mohler, very interesting indeed…

Leave a Reply

