True Friends, Please Stand Up

This past week I have been learning the blessings and curses of Facebook.  I knew it was going to come, but thanks to a few ambiguous posts by my wife and the change of her profile pic to a teary eyes, the word is starting to get out.  Now most of those people don’t know the specifics yet, but the chat boxes and phone calls have started in earnest.  I simply don’t have time to talk to or chat with all of the people from my past.

My wife also talked with some friends, with my blessing.  Unfortunately, even friends have the propensity to spread news that you don’t want spread.  Honestly, I could care less about me.  It is my kids I’m trying to protect.  Well, not so much protect as trying to make sure they get this information in a proper way and not through overhearing some family member or friend gossip.

I happened to wake up around 2am last week and couldn’t get back to sleep.  So, I grabbed my iPhone and saw that there were some new FB posts.  To my horror, one of our closest friends — a lesbian no less — had posted some obscure Old Testament passage on a photo of my family that my friends had been complimenting.  Here is the passage:

“The fathers have eaten sour grapes,
and the children’s teeth are set on edge.’

“As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign Lord,you will no longer quote this proverb in Israel. For everyone belongs to me, the parent as well as the child–both alike belong to me.  The one who sins is the one who will die.”

I can deal with a lot, but this just made me angry.  Common decency says you don’t post crap like this in a public place where my kids could see it.  Not to mention she was a close friend who had been in and out of being a lesbian her whole life.  During her “struggles” I was nothing but a good and loving friend.

The other area of joy I’ve been dealing with is chat attacks from some good friends from High School.  I used to live at their house and they attended the church I mentioned earlier.  It isn’t so much what they said to me as the manner in which they said it.  A cluster bomb of questions is a good way to think of it.  When I tried to answer them, they immediately attacked if I had any thought that might bust the bubble of their world view.  They STARTED with questioning.  There wasn’t even any small talk.  Gseesh.

Facebook has some excellent privacy features I’ve learned how to use lately.  However, I’m sure that I’ll deal with more and more of this in the months to come.

One response to “True Friends, Please Stand Up

Leave a Reply

